Calor Static IFM Banner 980x140px

New ICMSA president highlights family-farm focus


A new president has been appointed to the Irish Creamery Milk Suppliers Association (ICMSA). Tipperary dairy farmer, Pat McCormack, has succeeded John Comer for an initial three-year period in the role. 

Mr McCormack (40), who served as deputy president for the past six years, and who was a former chair of the ICMSA’s Dairy Committee, was elected, unopposed, at a National Council meeting. Lorcan McCabe was elected, unopposed, as Mr McCormack’s deputy.
Mr McCormack used his first public statement as president to reinforce the aim of the ICMSA. He said that, while the organisation will continue to work for and with any group, or individual, interested in highlighting rural issues, the ICMSA’s focus will always be fixed on the income of its core family dairy-farm membership and the milk price on which that income depends. 
“The ICMSA refuses to accept that the farmers who produced the milk on which a whole multi-billion-euro dairy sector was built, could be considered some kind of afterthought at the mercy of either the processors or the retailers,” he said.
Mr McCormack also identified Brexit, Mercosur, the Common Agricultural Policy and the environment as issues that will dominate the opening period of his presidency. He said the ICMSA would continue to ensure that the voice of Ireland’s dairy farmers is heard ‘loud and clear’ in the formation of policy for farming and agri-food sectors.
Shane O’Loughlin is the new chair of the Farm Business Committee, Des Morrison is chair of the Livestock Committee, and Denis Drennan has been elected chair of the Farm & Rural Affairs Committee.


Tags: ICMSA Pat McCormack ICMSA president