Farmers encouraged to vote for next IFA president


Voting to elect the 16th president of the Irish Farmers’ Association (IFA) will get underway in IFA branches across the country next Monday and will conclude on Friday, December 13. John Coughlan from the Buttevant branch in north Cork, Tim Cullinan from the Toomevara branch in north Tipperary and Angus Woods from the Barndarrig branch in Wicklow are all running for the position. IFA deputy president candidates are Thomas Cooney from the Laragh branch in Cavan and Brian Rushe from the Carbury/Cadamstown branch in Kildare.

IFA national returning officer, Richard Kennedy has encouraged farmers to attend all branch meetings (944 of them) and cast their votes for president and deputy president
“Our presidential election gives every member the same say in choosing the next president of the IFA. It’s an important exercise in democracy and it affords farmers across all enterprises, and in every part of the country, an equal voice in deciding who is best placed to represent Irish farmers from 2020 on,” he said.
The National Count will take place in the Castleknock Hotel in Dublin on Tuesday, December 17 and the incoming IFA president will take up office at the AGM in January 2020.